Books Celebrating Friendship August 6, 2017 – Posted in: Books – Tags: , , , , , , , ,

In honor of National Friendship Day, August 6, we’re featuring six of our favorite books from the past few years: books that touched our hearts, made us laugh, and reminded us of our first deep friendships—listed roughly in order of reading level.

Almost Super by Marion Jensen
HarperCollins, 2014

The Bailey family are superheroes. Brothers Rafter and Benny can’t wait for February 29th, when they will gain the powers that will help them fight the villainous Johnson family. But when the Leap Day rolls around, it turns out their powers totally suck. To make things worse, Juanita Johnson (who just happens to be in Rafter’s algebra class) says her family are the superheroes and the Baileys are the supervillains. Told from Rafter’s point of view, Almost Super is perfect for reluctant readers and fans of The Incredibles. The sequel, Searching for Super, was released in 2015.

The Imaginary by A.F. Harrold
Bloomsbury, 2015

Amanda Shuffleup found Rudger in her closet, and only she can see him. Until Mr. Bunting shows up, hunting for imaginaries. Rumor has it that he eats them. Now Rudger is alone, on the run for his imaginary life—and if he can’t find Amanda before she forgets him, he just might disappear entirely. This chilling and delightful tale comes to life with illustrations (including ten in full color) by the award-winning artist Emily Gravett.

The Adventurer’s Guide to Successful Escapes by Wade Albert White
Little, Brown, 2016

Anne (real name Anvil) and has spent her whole life in St. Lupin’s Institute for Perpetually Wicked and Unattractive Children, despite being neither. Now, at thirteen, she’s finally free to leave, and the first thing she does is fall off the edge of the earth. Naturally. Anne, her best friend Penelope, and the magically challenged Hiro are about to embark on an epic quest from debut author Wade Albert White.
The sequel, The Adventurer’s Guide to Dragons (yes, please!) will be released in September 2017.

Saving Lucas Biggs by Marisa de los Santos and David Teague
HarperCollins, 2014

Victory, Arizona, is a “company town,” where everything revolves around the dying coal industry. Margaret’s father, a geologist for the company, has been wrongly accused of murder and sentenced to death by the manipulative Judge Biggs. Desperate to save her father, Margaret does the only thing she knows how: she travels back in time, using a secret—and forbidden—family power. With the help of her best friend’s grandfather, she goes back to the judge’s childhood—but unless she can stop him from becoming corrupt, she risks returning to the same present she left. With its twisty plot and complex social themes (including the history of the labor movement), this one is perfect for upper middle grade readers.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
HarperTeen, 2015

This standalone novel from the author of the Chaos Walking trilogy is a hilarious tribute to the kids who aren’t chosen to save the world. Mikey, Henna, Jared, and Mel are just trying to graduate and maybe go to prom before the next apocalypse comes and the indie kids blow up the school again. Perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer (seriously, they blow up the school), The Rest of Us Just Live Here features a fair amount of teen sexual content, but it also contains one of the purest male friendships in YA.

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera
HarperTeen, 2017

Unless you manage to snag an advance copy, you’ll have to wait till September 5th for this one, the highly anticipated new novel from the author of More Happy Than Not. From the back cover: “On September 5 [notice the date?], a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that.”

What are some of your favorite books that celebrate friends?

« Books Handling Grief
CBAY Books on the Road: ALA 2017 »